Heard No Bells, but Saw a Star

Peace can be a reality on earth! We don’t have to wait until some “heaven” after we’re dead. God is calling forth a people, committed to helping co-create God’s peaceable kingdom on earth today. Will you be one? Imagine… Peace and Hope for every person, every family, every relationship! It can happen. it WILL happen. I’ll do MY part! Will you?

Daily Bread

Thursday, October 2

10-2By John Bonney of Springfield, Oregon, USA

For surely I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans for your welfare and not for harm, to give you a future with hope.

—Jeremiah 29:11 NRSV

Peace on Earth and goodwill is not just for Christmas. I often ponder on the third verse of the hymn, “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day.” The poet bows his head in despair and says, “There is no peace on earth…For hate is strong and mocks the song Of peace on earth…” Then Henry Longfellow continues by writing how the bells rang out, and the sound restored his hope.

I didn’t hear any bells, but something else happened to me on a predawn fall morning. I saw a star. The temperature on our patio was 22 degrees Fahrenheit. That’s cold for my part of the world. An inch-deep…

View original post 377 more words

Leave a Reply

